After
Kazaa, there is a new threat to artists, and it is in websites like
jetgroove.com.
There is only
one way to save us from this threat : AWARENESS.
7 steps to save
the independent record industry :
I - Everybody
have to be aware that the Russian based company "JetGroove",
jetgroove.com is selling music
illegally. Even though Ulukman Mamytov, JetGroove legal
department's spokesman, states on their website JetGroove signed license
agreements with all the labels sold on its site, this is a false information and
it is mistaking the customer.
II- They are
selling music downloaded from Kazaa and other P2P networks: To
build up their music library of music files, they downloaded them from P2P
networks and then re-encoded them.
III - JetGroove
is not British, but a Russian company:
a- They are
renting a British address in London at "Douglas Company Services",
douglas-cs.co.uk/, to show they
are legit and an English company. The address provided by Douglas Company
Services is : Regent House, 316 Beulah Hill, London SE19 3HF, United Kingdom
It's exactly
the address of the JetGroove offices you can find on their website.
b- Their phone
number in Moscow is +7 095 730 8046
c- One of their
sub domain name is: ru.corp.jetgroove.com , as "ru" for "Russia"
d- Some other
contacts of JetGroove: Alena Chakhnazarova, Ilya Basalaev
(very English isn't it?)
IV - Record
Industry Associations around the world are preparing to sue them: Yes..., why ?
Just because, not only being happy about selling illegal content from small
independent labels, they decided to sell music from major companies such as
Madonna, Britney Spears and so-on... They are very angry. So be
really careful with your music: if you feel your music is sold there illegally,
first contact your label manager then your local Recording Association as soon
as possible, or contact the IFPI (International Federation of the Phonographic
Industry)
ifpi.org/…
V - Their
website has been built by the following Russian webdesign company
suponix.com which is using the
same tricks as JetGroove to fool people on where they come from. They are
a Russian company from Odessa, Russia, and try to show they are American.
VI - You can
find more info here:
ivibes.nu/index.php?article=3461
dogsonacid.com/showthread.php?s=23ff44fc86589e6426bbc1dba7889049&threadid=244233&perpage=20&pagenumber=1
VII - Be aware
that there is a rumour of scam for credit card details.
So to help save
the independent record industry make people aware of this new kind of threat, we
have to !!!!!!!!! F O R W A R D THIS MESSAGE TO AS MANY PEOPLE
AS WE CAN !!!!!!!!!
Sarah Foote
(IDMW.Com/London)